The title you see above are things we never hear, and for some of us, it’s a big deal.  The majority of the teachers here are American, and we are known ’round the world for being over supportive and encouraging.  Maybe we are a little over zealous with the praise, but when you grow up being told that you are doing a good job and to keep it up, you get used to it.  When you DON’T get it, you feel under appreciated and, well, somewhat like pond scum.  Many of the teachers in Language Link are feeling that way now.  I can’t recall ONE time that I was told that I was working hard and that I was doing a good job.  Not once in the last 4 months.  The teachers do our best amongst ourselves to encourage each other and keep our spirits up, but it isn’t the same as getting it from your boss.

The one place you can, possibly, MAYBE get a ‘good job’, is in Russian class.  Now this has become a coveted thing and one teacher has started a competition about who can get 10 ‘good jobs’ first in class.  The teacher doesn’t know about it, of course, since we want it to be unbiased.  When you are told good job in class it’s like you’ve won the lottery (to me, maybe I am over reacting…).  Our Russian teacher is notoriously hard to please, so this isn’t a frequent occurance.  In the competition, I have 4, after a full week.  And that’s a 1 on 1 class.  I do have the advantage of being the lowest level learner in the whole of Language Link and a relatively shy and embarassed person when taking such a a hard language from the beginning stages one on one with an intimidating teacher.  So, maybe half of my ‘good jobs’ are mercy encouragement, but I will take it.  I probably need them more than most anyway.

One class into the competition, a teacher quit the game because she didn’t get any and it made her feel even more terrible, which is a risk when you focus on something as elusive as encouragement in Russia.  Me?  I want to WIN!

